Toll Tax Exemption for Military & Civil : List Published by Govt of India

Toll Tax Exemption for Military & Civil

There are huge controversy regarding exemption of Toll Tax for soldiers and Exservicemen. A number of cases has been reported to various defence and civil administrative authority related to not allowing defence personnel for exemption of Toll Tax. Recently Govt of India has issued list of Exempted category of Vehicle who need not to pay Toll Tax any where in India.

List of Exempted category of Vehicle for Toll Tax

Government of India
Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
Transport Bhawan, 1, Parliament Street.

Sl. No.Exempted Category of Mechanical VehicleCode
(a)Transporting and accompanying – 
(i.)The President of India;1
(ii.)The Vice-President of India;2
(iii.)The Prime-Minister of India;3
(iv.)The Governor of a State;4
(v.)The Chief Justice of India;5
(vi. )The Speaker of the House of People;6
(vii.)The Cabinet Minister of the Union;7
(viii. )The Chief Minister of a State;8
(ix.)The Judge of the Supreme Court;9
(x.)The Minister of State of the Union;10
(xi. )The Lieutenant Governor of a Union territory;11
(xii.)The Chief of Staff holding the rank of full General or equivalent rank;12
(xiii.)The Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State;13
(xiv.)The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of a State;14
(xv.)The Chief Justice of a High Court;15
(xvi.)The Judge of a High Court;16
(xvii.)The Member of Parliament;17
(xviii.)The Army Commander or Vice-Chief of Army Staff and equivalent in other services;18
(xix. )The Chief Secretary to a State Government within concerned State;19
(xx.)The Secretary to the Government of India;20
(xxi.)The Secretary, Council of States;21
(xxii.)The Secretary, House of People;22
(xxiii.)The Foreign dignitary on State visit;23
(xxiv.)The Member of legislative Assembly of a State and the Member of Legislative Council of a State within their respective State, if he or she produces his or her identity card issued by the concerned Legislature of the State;24
(xxv.)The awardees of Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Vir Chakra and Shaurya Chakra, if such awardee produces his or her photo identity card duly authenticated by the appropriate or competent authority for such award;25
(b)Used for official purpose by –26

List of Official Purpose use vehicle

(i)The Ministry of Defence including those which are eligible for exemption in accordance with the provisions of the Indian Toll (Army and Air Force) Act, 1901 and rules made there under, as extended to Navy also;27
(ii.)The Central and State armed forces in uniform including Para military forces and police;28
(iii.)An Executive Magistrate;29
(iv.)The Fire-fighting Department or organization;30
(v.)The National Highway Authority of India or any other Government organization using such vehicle for inspection, survey, construction or operation of national highways and maintenance thereof;31
(c)Used as ambulance; and32
(d)Used as funeral van.33
(e)Mechanical vehicles specially designed and constructed for use of a person suffering from physical disability.34

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top